A vehicle for the dressing

I have a relatively new obsession with tomatoes. I find I can eat one like an apple, or in deconstructed “salads” with green beans and various cheeses. I cook with them, add them to sauteed vegetables and suck wedges dry like Bunnicula. This isn’t even a fancy tomato-based recipe – but I built the entire meal around the fresh tomatoes we bought tonight so I’d be remiss if I didn’t give credit where credit is due.

I started with a couple of inexpensive steaks on the grill. I want to emphasize the inexpensive part over the steak part because any real steak lover would probably be appalled that I’m even calling these steaks.

Moving on, I threw a bunch of sliced portabella mushrooms onto the stovetop. No oil but I did use a bit of cooking spray just to prevent that annoying stick-thing mushrooms do. I happen to prefer my mushrooms slightly under-cooked even though the general rule is to lightly saute until you “get the water out”. I waited until they’d browned somewhat and went ahead and added the spinach.

Spinach added to the pan

I know what you’re thinking. That’s a heckuva lot of spinach. But the volume takes a significant hit due to the heat.

Wilted spinach with mushrooms

Remember that when you’re eating it, though. That’s still a lot of spinach in your belly!

Time for the tomatoes. Aren’t they beautiful? I mean, for winter tomatoes. From a grocery store. Probably grown in South America. But still! Tomatoes!

But I haven’t even gotten to the best part. It’s not the tomatoes after all. It’s the dressing. Oh my god, the dressing.

I am about to reveal something that will change your dressing consumption forever. Bolthouse Farms Yogurt Dressing. 50 calories for 2 tablespoons. Two delicious tablespoons. It’s in the produce section. It’s refrigerated.

Study this bottle. Study it! Don’t get the ranch – it’s fine, really. But it’s 70 calories and it’s just not as spectacular. Don’t even try any of the other many flavors. Just get the blue cheese. Life. Changing.

Nutritional content for 4 ounces steak with wilted spinach, mushrooms, tomatoes and the dressing, approximate: 432 calories, 23.9 grams fat, 8.7 grams saturated fat, 104.1mg cholesterol, 365.1mg sodium, 15.8 grams carbohydrates, 8.2 grams fiber, 3.4 grams sugar, 41.5 grams protein.

6 thoughts on “A vehicle for the dressing

  1. Ohmigod. Yum! Can you, like, be my wife?! Or, at least, surprise me with beautiful dinners like this two to three times a week when I get home from work?

  2. Pingback: Steak and beer, but not how you think « having fun storming your castle

  3. Pingback: “Our Kitchen Stories” website and Gaynor’s School of Cooking event « having fun storming your castle

  4. Pingback: What I Love vs. What I Eat, vol. 1 « having fun storming your castle

Leave a Reply

