100 calorie cookies

If I had been able to find Barry’s Bakery French Twists at the grocery store last night, I wouldn’t have had to make cookies.

Then again, I’m pretty pleased with the results of cutting out almost all processed foods from my diet. So even though Barry’s stuff is pretty un-processed, I think I might prefer the control of baking snacks myself.

I didn’t set out to make a 100 calorie cookie; I just wanted something made with whole wheat flour and semi-sweet chocolate chips. In another brilliant example of my lack of cooking/baking foresight, I didn’t confirm the existence of any other cookie-type ingredients before I started. If the list below seems unconventional, that’s because it is. See if you can guess where I had to make things up as I went along:

100 Calorie Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

2 cups whole wheat flour

2 cups granulated Splenda (measures cup-for-cup with sugar)

1 egg

1 tsp baking soda

14 tablespoons of softened salted butter, which is somewhere between 3/4 and 1 cup. (see: lack of foresight)

1 tablespoonish of ground cloves

1 tablespoonish of juice. I used this Fruit & Veggie Tropical Citrus stuff from Ocean Spray because that’s what we had. Apple juice would also be fine. The point is just to give it a little bit of moisture.

6 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate chips

Set the oven to 375 degrees. Mix the butter, Splenda and egg. I did this with a large spoon but had to pull out the hand mixer for the next step. Add the flour, baking soda and cloves. The dough is going to be really stiff and crumbly but don’t despair, that’s what the juice is for. And if the “ish” in the ingredients list wasn’t clear enough, I didn’t measure the cloves or the juice. You could easily skip both and add some vanilla. That’s a pretty common cookie addition, but guess who doesn’t have any in her pantry?

Once the dough starts to clog up your mixer, it’s probably time to switch back to a spoon. Stir in the chocolate chips so they’re spread evenly throughout the dough. Mini chips might make this easier, but I don’t know off hand how that will change the nutritional information. Probably not much if the total ounces remain the same.

I actually used a real tablespoon to measure out the dough for the cookie sheet because I wanted uniform cookies to track in LoseIt! later. I can’t remember ever doing that before, but it sure makes the cookies look lovely when they’re finished baking. And speaking of that, you’re looking at 30 small cookies on an ungreased cookie sheet for about 10-12 minutes. (It’s totally fine to split the 30 cookies between two cookies sheets, but you probably knew that.) I checked them at 8 minutes just in case, but put them back in for another 3 minutes.

Lightly browned on the top and bottom, pleasant crumbly texture without being too fall-aparty. Not bad for winging it, eh? Next time I’ll probably go for egg whites only, and maybe applesauce instead of the juice. We didn’t have applesauce, either, or I would have tried that in the first place. (see: well, you get the idea)

Nutritional information for one cookie, approximate: 106 calories, 7.3 grams of fat, 4.5 grams saturated fat, 21.3mg cholesterol, 40.6mg sodium, 9.5 grams carbohydrates, .9 grams fiber, 3.3 grams sugar, 1.8 grams protein.

4 thoughts on “100 calorie cookies

    • Me too. Since the egg plays the part of the oil in this one, I could probably do applesauce instead of egg. Hmmmm. Guess I’ll have to make moar cookyz.

  1. Pingback: Curry cop-out « having fun storming your castle

  2. Pingback: Variations on a theme « having fun storming your castle

Leave a Reply

