Curry cop-out

I usually make curry completely from scratch. Tonight was not one of those nights. I’ve had stomach monsters for most of the day and I didn’t feel like spending all evening making dinner. I also wanted something a little lighter on account of said monsters, though this ended up being significantly lighter than I had even intended.

I started by prepping my raw ingredients: green beans, carrots, tomatoes, cilantro and super firm cubed tofu. I only buy light coconut milk, so I set that to heat on the stove and added some concentrated green curry paste. One of the best things about making curry myself is controlling the sodium content, but by spreading the sauce (literally) over so many vegetables, I was able to reduce that to a reasonable number even for a prepared paste.

Carrots and cilantro went in first. The carrots took forever and I probably will at least start them in the microwave next time since so much of the coconut milk was sacrificed as they stewed. I added the green beans next for the same reason, although they don’t need nearly as much time as the carrots. All told, it was probably almost 15 minutes on medium heat before I added the tofu.

I debated quickly browning the tofu in another pan before adding it, but D pointed out that it might be less likely to absorb all the tasty curry flavor that way. I let the whole thing simmer for a couple of minutes before adding the tomatoes. Yes, of course there were tomatoes.

We have this health initiative at work called Color Your Plate! where you’re asked to track how many different colors you have at each meal. The logic behind this oversimplification is that the more variety in color, the more likely it is that some of that variety is coming from vegetables. Apparently we’re all six years old. I should submit this picture as proof of what a good little vegetable-eater I am.

I had some leftover quinoa from earlier in the week, so I served it with the curry rather than making something new. I did call it a cop-out for a reason.

Avi ate all the vegetables, sauce and quinoa and most of his tofu before declaring that he only likes tofu in soup now. When pressed for a reason, he said, “I would prefer if it were surrounded with broth because this way tastes too much like when it’s just raw.” I remain skeptical since a) he did eat almost all of it first, b) we had talked earlier about “raw” tofu and he predicted he wouldn’t like it that way (who does?!) and c) he was totally just jonesing to try one of the 100 calorie cookies from yesterday.

Tomorrow night we’re making pizza. D and I tackled the dough this evening, by which I mean he did all the hard measuring work and I came in at the end for the kneading and the picture taking to get all the credit. We make a good team.

Nutritional information for green curry with tofu and vegetables, approximate: 136 calories, 7.1 grams fat, 4.5 grams saturated fat, 0mg cholesterol, 231.8mg sodium, 10.5 grams carbohydrates, 3.6 grams fiber, 2.8 grams sugar, 6.4 grams protein. (This is calculated by taking 1/6 of the entire recipe.)

Nutritional information for 1/2 cup quinoa, approximate: 111 calories, 1.8 grams fat, 0mg cholesterol, 6.5mg sodium, 19.7 grams carbohydrates, 2.6 grams fiber, 4.1 grams protein.

2 thoughts on “Curry cop-out

  1. Pingback: “Mommy, I’m a worker.” And I made curried chard. Everybody wins! « having fun storming your castle

  2. Pingback: Tofu U.* « having fun storming your castle

Leave a Reply

