Let’s make a pancake!

One of my all time favorite Eric Carle books is called Pancakes, Pancakes. The boy in the story wakes up and says to his mother, “Let’s make a pancake!” which I find so hilarious because really, who makes just one pancake? She sends him on a journey for all of the ingredients, including grinding the flour, churning the butter and so on. After each ingredient, he says again expectantly, “Let’s make a pancake!” and I giggle. It’s entirely possible that I have more fun reading it to Avi than he does listing to  me read.

On Sunday, before hockey and in the midst of the delicious pulled beef experiment, I decided to make a pancake. Or eight. I started with a simple whole wheat flour recipe and thought about what I could add to make them more fun. I had some berries and some spices out but at the last minute decided to go savory instead of sweet.

Fresh chives! And cracked pepper and a wee bit of kosher salt. Oh heck, here is my recipe:

Whole Wheat Chive Pancakes

1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
2 1/4 tsp. baking powder
1 egg
1 1/4 cups skim milk
A bunch of fresh chives. Maybe 1/8 cup?
Pinch of kosher salt
Cracked pepper to taste

Combine flour, baking powder, salt and pepper. Chop the chives, or use your kitchen scissors, because they’re not just for pizza. Stir them until they are evenly distributed. Because I didn’t really measure, I cut-add-stirred twice to get the desired amount. Beat the egg into the milk and slowly pour both into the dry ingredients. The dough will be quite wet.

It should come as no surprise to anyone that I used our small cast iron skillet to actually cook the pancakes, just like Jack and his mother. I got about 8 from my recipe, although I’ll admit that they weren’t entirely uniform in size. The first and last pancakes were the most beautiful – the first before the pan got too hot and the last after it cooled down when I readjusted.

This is what you’re going for before flipping each cake – consistent shape and bubbling. If you have the temperature correct (low to medium, depending on your stove and your cookware) you’ll be able to flip after a minute and a half or so. Because we just recently re-seasoned our cast iron skillets, I didn’t use any butter, oil or cooking spray. Your results may vary.

So, chive pancakes. Fine on their own, by why stop there? At this point it was approximately 40 minutes before we had to leave for the ice rink, Avi was sound asleep, I needed a shower and I still hadn’t eaten anything – which was the whole point of making pancakes. Luckily my concluding burst of inspiration took no time at all.

Chive pancake + grilled salmon pulled into chunks + Greek yogurt. What it’s lacking in presentation, it more than made up for in taste. And isn’t that how it should be? Leftovers yesterday with spinach and tomatoes were even more delightful.

Nutrition information for one whole wheat chive pancake, approximate:  89 calories, 1 gram fat, .1 gram saturated fat, 26.8mg cholesterol, 157.8mg sodium, 16.1 grams carbohydrates, 2.2 grams fiber, 1.9 grams sugar, 4.8 grams protein.
Leave a Reply

