“Mommy, I’m a worker.”

I don’t even know what that is. I mean, he says it all the time, but “worker” can be so many different things to him: sometimes he’s a policeman, other times a bus driver or train engineer and occasionally he is something more exotic like a space explorer. The other day he was a stamping robot. And at least three times a week he is either a hockey player, hockey coach or Zamboni driver. (Not counting the times in the car on the way to the ice rink when he announces that we are, in fact, in a Zamboni and that “I am the Zamboni driver even though Daddy is driving the car, okay?”)

My brother and sister-in-law got him a bunch of hats that he uses to be various “workers”. At four and a half, he is already very good at accessorizing to complete the desired look. I find his costume choices both supremely hilarious and overwhelmingly creative. Like the pirate he made when we were snowed in.

It was so very important to him to have a tight cap and an eye patch in order to be an authentic pirate, yet I cannot for the life of me figure out where he got a sense of what a pirate even is. He takes his pretending very seriously. The extra pair of glasses became the pirate beard. We get a lot of mileage out of those two pairs of sunglasses.

Tonight his worker was an explorer. “See my backpack, Mommy? Doesn’t it look like I could really go exploring?” Must be going someplace really bright if you need to actually wear both pairs of glasses and a hat.

So that’s what Avi did while I made dinner. And apparently explorer workers get hungry on their expeditions because he ate everything on his plate, none of which was particularly standard four year old food.

I had picked up some rainbow chard at the co-op earlier this week, and when I realized I still had coconut milk in the fridge from the curry I knew I had a winning combination. Chard, like any other greens with nice big juicy delicious stalks, takes a while to cook down and soften. This is far beyond wilting – I let the chard simmer for about a half hour in our 13″ cast iron skillet before it was ready to eat.

I made sure not to let the curry sauce and coconut milk get too hot; nothing is worse than scalded coconut milk. And I cut the stalks from the leaves before putting them in so they could rest in the bottom of the pan soaking up the coconut milk. After everything was tender and really infused with the curry goodness, I cut the stalks and some of the larger leaf pieces and set them aside.

Full disclosure: I would have preferred to eat the chard right out of the skillet, but I was too busy negotiating cooking times with my beets. I set the oven too low and then they had to roast longer and by that point everything else was done and waiting…but hey, it was all tasty in the end.

Served with grilled mahi mahi and those pesky beets. Super yummy and super proud of Avi for eating it all!

He got a gift certificate for a cooking class for Hanukkah, and he’s scheduled to go to the class in April or May. He has a chef’s hat and apron ready to go to be a “cook worker”. This is going to be awesome.

Nutritional information for 3/4 cup of curried chard, approximate: 55 calories, 3.5 grams far, 3 grams saturated fat, 0mg cholesterol, 284.6mg sodium, 4.2 grams carbohydrates, 1.2 grams fiber, 1 gram sugar, 1.3 grams protein

6 thoughts on ““Mommy, I’m a worker.”

  1. OMG! He is absolutely too much! I find it hard to believe there are many other kids out there in the universe who are anywhere like him. When he was here he informed me that scientists have found that the moon actually has a layer of water on the surface. Too much!

Leave a Reply

