Tofu U.*

*Not a real university. No, really. It’s not.

I decided to challenge Avi’s notion that he doesn’t like tofu unless it’s “surrounded by broth” by making it a way he’s never had before: in a wok. What a concept, right? I won’t keep you in suspense. He totally loved it. And I totally dug this way of cooking that I haven’t done in years, if ever. Needless to say, the wok will not be returning to its previous banishment in the basement. (Originally for space reasons, I swear.)

I pressed the heck out of some super firm tofu and cut it into cubes. None of this is rocket science, but it’s important to get as much moisture out of the tofu before putting it in the wok. Ah, the wok. Let’s take a closer look, shall we?

See the ring? The technical term for that is “the-wicked-hot-part-in-the-middle” and it is very important. Basically, you want to superheat the center of the wok and create a hot spot. Heat will obviously transfer to the sides as well, and the combination creates a very efficient method for browning. You can test whether or not it’s ready by dripping a couple drops of water into the center of the wok. The droplets dance around in the wicked hot part; it’s really pretty awesome to watch. Add some oil – just not olive oil because it can burn at the high temperature you should be using.

I dumped all the tofu into the oil and let it brown, keeping it moving throughout almost all of the process. I say almost all because midway through I realized I’d forgotten to take care of the chives before I started. Super poor form. I sort of chopped chives with one hand while stirring the tofu with the other, and added a bit of kosher salt and cracked pepper. I added the chives at the last possible moment so they wouldn’t get all crusty and gross. Also a technical term.

It smelled delicious while it was in the wok. It tasted even better when it was finished.

Even to the most vocal of critics. (“Don’t take a picture of me with my sweaty hair!”)

Nutritional content for 1 serving (1/5 of the original block, or about 3 ounces) of tofu with chives, approximate: 129 calories, 9.5 grams fat, .9 grams saturated fat, 0mg cholesterol, 192.1mg sodium, 2.1 grams carbohydrates, 1 gram fiber, 8.1 grams protein.

2 thoughts on “Tofu U.*

  1. I did this last night. I let the tofu soak in soy sauce, chopped garlic, red pepper flakes and a crapload of fresh ginger for a couple hours before I got out the wok. Make enough for leftovers…

Leave a Reply

