Variations on a theme – UPDATED

I made cookies again. They are an even greater achievement on the nutrition scale than my 100 calorie cookies. However, it is possible they are more accurately described as “cookies” – not to be mistaken with “cash” or “car”.

I think they would do well as a bar cookie (lack of quotation marks intentional) since they don’t really spread out much in the oven. But either way, they’re pretty delicious and definitely curbed my sweet tooth tonight. Look! I made you an actual recipe, with measured ingredients and everything.

Whole Wheat Oatmeal Blueberry Cookies

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup rolled oats (I used old-fashioned, but quick oats would probably be even better.)

1 egg white

2/3 cup granulated Splenda (Does Splenda come in brown sugar form? If so, that would be ideal, but regular was fine.)

1/4 cup skim milk

1 tablespoon honey

1/4 dried blueberries

1/8 teaspoon baking powder (True confession: I didn’t measure this and I don’t even know if it’s necessary. But when I was calculating the nutritional content I estimated 1/8 teaspoon.)

1/3 light butter (I used the spreadable kind with canola oil.)

Ground cloves and allspice to taste (Except, don’t actually like, taste the dough. On account of the egg. Right?)

Preheat the oven to 325. Mix everything except the blueberries. It goes together easily with a spoon, so no need to bust out your fancy mixer. The dough is quite sticky as you can maybe see below.

If you’re savvier than I, you will soak (and lightly dry) the blueberries before you add them in. That’s a pretty basic rule when cooking with dried fruits that I of course failed to consider until after it was too late. (If you follow my private account on Twitter you may be aware of what I was distracted by. Hint: it had many* legs, it was in Avi’s room, and it was huge. <Shudder> Let’s get back to the cookies, shall we?)

Stir in the blueberries so they’re mixed evenly and then spoon out the dough onto a cookie sheet. I lightly greased mine; that may also be an unnecessary step. It’s super important to get 30 cookies out of the dough if you want the nutritional information to be accurate. I used a 1/4 teaspoon because it was the only size clean (true story) but I had to go pretty heaping with my spoonfuls.

Bake for 10 minutes on 325 and then increase the temperature to 350 for the final 10 minutes. This will help prevent the cookies from browning too early in the process. Cool on a rack.

Things to consider for next time, besides soaking the blueberries: vanilla, applesauce, doubling the recipe (bigger cookies, still only 82 calories!), brown sugar substitute, half whole wheat/half all-purpose flour (probably would help them be lighter in texture) or going the bar route.

But hey, 41 calories for a cookie? No complaints here. Except about the thing with legs. That sucked.

Nutritional information for one cookie (1/30 of recipe), approximate: 41 calories, 1.1 grams fat, .3 grams saturated fat, .9mg cholesterol, 22.3mg sodium, 6.5 grams carbohydrates, .9 grams fiber, 1.3 grams sugar, 1.2 grams protein.

* Not a spider, although he thought it was. Think many, many, many legs. Or better yet, don’t.

UPDATE: This morning, I made another batch with a slightly tweaked dough recipe. Generally I doubled everything, but I nixed the baking soda, added cinnamon, did a 1/4 cup each of dried blueberries and dried other berries (seems like cranberries, cherries and strawberries mostly), added a bit of vegetable oil instead of doubling the light butter, and accidentally did one whole egg and one just egg white because the yolk slipped out before I could catch it.

I baked them for 18 minutes at 350 degrees the whole time. I also only got 28 cookies instead of 30 since I didn’t follow my own directions and measure my spoonfuls. They smell amazing, probably because of the cinnamon.

New nutritional information for one cookie (1/28 of modified recipe), approximate: 93 calories, 2.8 grams, .6 grams saturated fat, 8.7mg cholesterol, 27.5mg sodium, 14.6 grams carbohydrates, 2 grams fiber, 3.3 grams sugar, 2.8 grams protein.

Leave a Reply

