Definitions

smug*

Pronunciation: \ˈsməg\
Function: adjective
Inflected Form(s): smug·ger; smug·gest
Etymology: probably modification of Low German smuck neat, from Middle Low German, from smucken to dress; akin to Old English smoc smock
Date: 1551

1 : trim or smart in dress : spruce
2 : scrupulously clean, neat, or correct : tidy
3 : highly self-satisfied

smug·ly adverb

smug·ness noun

While I certainly agree with the third definition, as that is in fact the very way that my gym partner ThePGHA and I use it, I would like to humbly offer a fourth option:

Which I observed this morning while running at the reservoir. After going to the gym. At 6:30am. On my day off. What’s that lovely word Sheldon uses? Oh, right.

Bazinga.

Synonymous with smug.

*from Merriam-Webster’s Online Dictionary

3 thoughts on “Definitions

  1. Hating you full time as I sit here ALONE trying to spread out my tasks for the long three days ahead. But enjoy your week ;-)

  2. I’m actually more impressed with the fact that you have gone to the gym AND gone running than I am with the sun shot – although it is gorgeous. So, are you off all week?

Leave a Reply

