100 calorie spice bread

My timing was all out of whack today.

I intended to get up and go running this morning, but it was raining so I stayed in bed later than I should have. I was stuck on the phone with IT at work for an hour and a half, so I didn’t eat lunch until 3pm. I was going to try to catch the early bus home, but I got distracted and didn’t get home til almost 6:30pm. And so because of the stymied run this morning, I had to go tonight around 9:45pm, which was interesting and totally fine but not necessarily something I’d recommend doing in the future. (Shout out to my mom who already questioned that particular judgment call.)

In the midst of this wacky day, I decided to bake some bread. Quick bread. None of that rising, kneading, waiting shit. I wanted one aspect of my day to bow to my will instead of the other way around, and I succeeded.

I’m going to do this the real-recipe way, since it’s baking. And while I did wing it, I followed some basic dry-to-wet ratios that are important to the texture of the bread.

100 Calorie Spice Bread

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 egg, plus 1 egg white (not mixed together)

1 cup skim milk

1 cup granulated Splenda

1/3 cup vegetable oil

1 tablespoon baking powder

Cinnamon, ground cloves and fresh ground nutmeg. Yes, I said fresh ground nutmeg. Like this:

Mix the dry ingredients (flours, baking soda, Splenda) and add the spices to taste. I’d guess I did about a tablespoon of cinnamon and a tablespoon of ground cloves before the nutmeg. It’s hard to measure spices. Mix the milk and the egg (not the egg white) and the oil separately, then add them to the dry ingredients.

The dough will be lumpy and sticky. Don’t freak out.

Spoon it into a baking dish. Mine was 9×4 and glass. I really lightly greased and floured it based on a previous poor experience, but your results may vary. Bake at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes, or until the top crust is hard enough to withstand an egg white wash.

Lightly brush the egg white across the top of the bread, then sprinkle with a mixture of Splenda, cinnamon and ground cloves. Fresh ground nutmeg would be a great addition, but I’d already cleaned up the grater by that point, proving that even my breadmaking was not completely immune from my poorly-timed Tuesday.

Put it back in the oven for about 10 more minutes. Maybe 15. Cool on a rack for as long as you can stand before you cut into it. Try to beat my record of about four minutes.

Avi was able to do all of the mixing himself, and is therefore 100% responsible for the perfect rich texture of this bread.

Enjoy eating your hard work. Or in the case of the piece I just gobbled down after my run, enjoy eating after your hard work. Same difference.

Nutritional information for 1 piece of spice bread (1/16 of recipe), approximate: 105 calories, 4.8 grams fat, .3 grams saturated fat, 13.4mg cholesterol, 119.1mg sodium, 12.8 grams carbohydrates, 1.1 grams fiber, .8 grams sugars, 3 grams protein.

One thought on “100 calorie spice bread

  1. You might also be interested in Agave Nectar as it tastes amazing, is 100% pure and natural, and is safe for diabetics.

    It measures just like sugar (Some people like to put a bit less in, but I just match it too sugar in my recipes and it works just fine!)

    There are also a few Dangers of Splenda that you might want to know too (And your readers as well!)

Leave a Reply

