Hockey and Tomatoes. Life is good.

Little Penguins hockey is over for the season. It was – and continues to be – an amazing experience for Avi. And his parents! I am astounded at the progress he has made since January, and I can’t wait to see what else he can do. I know I keep saying that, but since this is our first official sanctioned sports activity (other than kicking a soccer ball around in the back yard, or a week of gymnastics camp last summer), it’s really the first opportunity I’ve had to watch my son grow as an little athlete. We signed him up for a summer program with one of the same coaches that starts this Sunday morning. Some of the sessions are even at hockey o’clock like the big kids. (Read: 7am. On the ice. Wow.)

I know he’s only four. If I felt like we were a) pushing him into this or b) spending buckets of money on it, I’d probably call for a time-out to reconsider. It also helps that he still has a million and a half other interests, just like a four year old should. He’s been helping me start our herb and vegetable plantings inside before we transfer them outside this weekend. Personally, I think it’s the use of the spray bottle that he finds so appealing. Usually it’s off limits.


But look! We have tomato sprouts! Most excellent progress.

One thought on “Hockey and Tomatoes. Life is good.

Leave a Reply

