Sometimes you just have to go whole hog

We’re halfway through KrallTour 2010, and for last weekend’s visitors I decided to make chocolate chip cookies from scratch. (Don’t be jealous, KrallWeekend #1 or KrallWeekend #3! This was almost entirely motivated by the amazing eggs from our CSA box, previously featured in mouth-watering fritatta form.) Since I am an instinctual cook but not an instinctual baker, I turned once again to Alton Brown’s I’m Just Here For More Food to make his presumably-not-diet-friendly Chocolate Chip Cookies #10. Egg yolks, full-fat butter, sugar and brown sugar. Sheesh.

The only thing I did differently was double the recipe. Oh, and I didn’t weigh out the dry goods. We are looking for a good digital cooking scale to replace my wobbly traditional scale, but we haven’t gotten one yet. Sorry, AB.

In case you were wondering what 65 chocolate chip cookies look like, this is it. In case you were wondering what I am going to do with all of the leftovers, well, so am  I. Luckily, I was able to pass some on to unsuspecting friends and family. I’d say we have about a dozen to a dozen-and-a-half left.

I wasn’t going to run the numbers on these puppies. I thought it would be too depressing. I was pleasantly surprised to see that the damage was actually less than I expected. I certainly am not going to start baking like this regularly, but it was nice to know that a single cookie wasn’t going to wreck my caloric intake for the decade like I feared.

Nutritional information for one cookie (1/65 of AB’s recipe, doubled): 200 calories, 9.1 grams fat, 5.5 grams saturated fat, 29.1mg cholesterol, 118.8mg sodium, 29.1 grams carbohydrates, .7 grams fiber, 21.5 grams sugar, 1.7 grams protein.

4 thoughts on “Sometimes you just have to go whole hog

  1. we always freeze big batches of cookies. then we can eat them one at a time and not feel like we have to devour the entire batch because they are there.

    those look super delish, btw.

  2. Pingback: Spice Cookies (and fireworks) On A Boat « having fun storming your castle

  3. Pingback: For Emily, Wherever I May Find Her (Eating These Cookies) « having fun storming your castle

Leave a Reply

