Now accepting suggestions for what to call this stuff

Believe it or not, I’m allergic to the acid in raw butternut squash, so rather than suffer through cutting it up and burning my hands, I often decide to pay a premium and purchase it already cut.

Today I bought four containers – quite an investment for an experiment. Spoiler alert: the fact that I’m sharing the results of said experiment here should be a good indication that everything worked out.

My goal was to make a potato-salad-like mixture using the squash in place of the potatoes. I also wanted to avoid mayonnaise, and I figured a spicy mustard with some honey would be a great balance to the sweetness of the butternut squash. I roasted about nine cups of butternut squash in the oven (450 degrees) and finished with five minutes on high broil. Then I patted them down and set them in the fridge to cool.

While the squash was in the oven, I prepped the rest of the vegetables: green onions, celery and radishes.

I considered hard boiled eggs like a traditional potato salad might have, but then I thought that particular combination with the mustard and honey sounded somewhat disgusting. Definitely the right choice. And it turns out I actually had the perfect complement already on hand.

Yup, that’s crumbled turkey bacon. Prepared in a skillet, drained and dried, then chopped. I mixed the “dry” ingredients (squash, radishes, onions, celery, bacon) and the wet (spicy dijon mustard, honey) separately. I think any brown mustard or even mustard/mayo combination would work. The honey cuts the spiciness well, and both work beautifully with the sweet squash and salty turkey bacon. I added a little bit of kosher salt and cracked pepper at the end just to punch up the flavor.

It is was awesome.

We made the rounds at two parties where multiple second helpings were observed and the experiment fully sanctioned by the youngest (present) Krall. The only problem is that I don’t know what to call it. “Mock Potato Salad” was suggested, as was “Squash Stuff”. “Butternut Squash Salad” sounds weird. I suppose there are worst problems to have.

Like the fact that there are barely any leftovers.

Nutritional information for one serving…[insert name of this stuff here]…, or approximately 1/20 of recipe: 91 calories, 1.3 grams fat, .5 grams saturated fat, 5mg cholesterol, 240.4mg sodium, 19.3 grams carbohydrates, 1.4 grams fiber, 11.3 grams sugar, 1.8 grams sugar.

4 thoughts on “Now accepting suggestions for what to call this stuff

  1. I think you could call it butternut squash salad or squash salad. It only sounds weird because it’s a new creation, but you have tuna salad, chicken salad, macaroni salad etc. Squash Salad sounds only natural AND delicious! I’d love to try it!

  2. I agree that squatato salad is a pretty good choice, but that implies you were trying to imitate potato salad. This really seems capable of standing on its own – sounds fabulously delicious! Someone creative has to come up with a super name for it. Squashed salad? Turksquash salad? Whatever, sounds great! Good for you!

Leave a Reply

