We’re not going to call these “spicy chocolate nutty balls”!

(Even though they are.)

I went to a #margaritas party last night, so I wanted to bring something thematically appropriate. And since snacks (guacamole, pico de gallo) were already covered, I started thinking about what kind of delicious dessert would work with the drink of choice.

My first inclination was key lime pie tarts, but I’d need backup to pull that off and I didn’t want to be pressed for time (or press someone else’s). Then I considered sopapillas, but a) they’re fried and b) they don’t travel well.

The final choice turned out to be the best all along, of course. Something small and easy, combining chocolate and chili for a nice sweet/spicy kick. Normally I’d just jump in and experiment, but I wanted to make absolutely sure I could bring something gluten-free for our host to enjoy as well. With a little searching, I found this recipe for chocolate chili truffles, which was a great base to start from.

I used a chocolate with a slightly lower cocoa percentage (Ghirardelli) and light coconut milk, and I tripled the recipe. Everything was going smoothly (literally) until I added extra chili powder. I don’t know if that’s what pushed the emulsion over the edge, or if the heat finally caught up with everything, but I suddenly had a pot full of this:

Lumpy, separated chocolate. Mmmmmmm.

Yeah, so there is nothing you can do about this when it happens. There’s no way to make it magically go back to the smooth texture you’d get if you take your damn time. But no worries: it may be ugly, but it still tastes delicious. I put it in the fridge to cool and went to work on the almonds.

If a recipe calls for toasted nuts of any sort, I highly recommend you toast them yourself. It’s not difficult, and the flavor rewards are worth the extra step. Stove top pan + nuts + lowish medium heat + constant stirring = toasted. (I chopped the almonds first, or as close to chopping as I could get by hand.)

I separated the chocolate into two batches so I could vary the heat on the outside. For the first batch, I mixed the almonds with cocoa powder and chili powder.

That round also ended up with a heavier almond coating. The second batch just had cocoa and a few almonds.

So, yeah. Super unattractive (due to the separated chocolate) but considering I brought none home with me at the end of the night, I’m going to assume they were a hit.

Nutritional information for each truffle, approximate: 91 calories, 4.9 grams of fat, 2.7 grams of saturated fat, 14 mg sodium, 11.9 grams carbohydrates, .3 grams fiber, 9.2 grams sugar, 1.3 grams protein.

5 thoughts on “We’re not going to call these “spicy chocolate nutty balls”!

  1. Pingback: For Emily, Wherever I May Find Her (Eating These Cookies) « having fun storming your castle

Leave a Reply

