New and Improved! 75ish calorie oatmeal cookies!

I fixed the cookies. These are infinitely better, with a cake-like texture that was quite good both warm and room-temperature. Also cold, like right from the fridge. And they’re versatile! I made three versions: plain, chocolate thumbprint and dried fruit.

Luckily, I didn’t clean up after I finished baking so I was able to go back and view the measuring cup carnage to reconstruct the recipe.

75ish calorie oatmeal cookies

2 1/2 cups dry oats (fanciness is up to you)
2 cups whole wheat flour
3 large eggs (farm fresh if you’re a CSA snob like I’ve become)
3/4 cup light agave nectar
1/2 apple cider (also from our CSA, but I’d be willing to bet that apple juice would work just as well)
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon almond extract
1 teaspoon baking soda
Nutmeg, cinnamon, ground cloves and ginger to taste
pinch of Kosher salt

Preheat the oven to 325. Mix the agave nectar, cider, eggs and extracts together. Mix the oats, flour, baking soda, spices and salt. Add wet to dry. It should be goopy but not sopping. Yes, those are technical terms.

I spooned the first 20 cookies onto a lightly sprayed cookie sheet. On ten of them, I pressed a single disc of Ghiradelli’s chocolate left over from #margaritas. The other ten I left plain. In the remaining mix, I stirred in a 1/3 cup of Trader Joes’ dried mixed berries, which are awesomely delicious because they have blueberries AND strawberries.

14 minutes, but check them at 10 and 12 to make sure they’re not browning too much. Cool on a rack.

Nutritional information per cookie (1/36 of recipe), approximate: 78 calories, .9 grams fat, .2 grams saturated fat, 17.9mg cholesterol, 41.1mg sodium, 15.4 grams carbohydrates, 1.5 grams fiber, 6.6 grams sugar, 2.6 grams protein.

(This is worst case scenario, mind you. If you had a cookie with both chocolate AND dried fruit. Which I did not make. But when I realized the difference between plain (73 calories) and everything (78 calories) was five measly calories, I excused myself from the math of calculating each individual variation. )

Leave a Reply

