Not now, Soon

Yesterday and with no warning whatsoever, my friend Jeffrey posted one sentence:

Things are going to change, I can feel it.

Besides getting the song in my head (arg), I’ve adopted that statement as my personal mantra this week. I am so very close, I just have to take it one day at a time and keep things in perspective. (Insert additional cliche affirmations here.) But since impulse control has never exactly been my specialty, I awarded myself extra special props for not jumping the gun or acting before thinking through the consequences. So yeah, go me.

In other news of things on the horizon, albeit with a bit more content than the paragraph above, a couple of my pieces (probably printmaking – I haven’t totally decided yet) will be up for auction at this year’s Rock the Streets on June 12th in East Liberty.

There is an incredible list of musicians and artists involved, and I am humbled to be included. Tickets can be purchased at the link above, and 100% of the proceeds benefit Community Human Services. Hopefully a bunch of yinz guys are already planning to attend.

One of my plans over the next couple weeks is to get our third floor studio back up and running, giving both Avi and myself a place to “work”. Yes, part of this plan includes purchasing a small air conditioner if we’re really going to make use of the space this summer, but that’s my serious intention. I have three illustration projects and some independent layout/graphic work I’d like to get a move on, so hopefully once the studio project is complete the motivation will follow.

8 thoughts on “Not now, Soon

  1. Good for you! I am also trying to let go a little bit. My change to full time (for the first time since Jocie was born) is in about three weeks and I know everything will be thrown out of whack. It’s so hard to wait when you know change is on the way. On the studio front, this summer we are hoping to make our minuscule studio/office more functional and clean out the basement for printing/silk screen experimentation.

    • I didn’t know you were going full-time! Wow. Good luck, I know you’ll rock that.
      Have you guys done printmaking at home before? I’d be interested to hear what methods you’ve found work best for small scale stuff. I doubt I’ll get to PCA as often as I’d like.

      • The extent of our printing in the basement is a couple of screens and a pile of ink bottles/supplies on a table covered with a f*ckton of other stuff. We have done some simple t-shirts and cards. We dream of getting a little table-sized letterpress for small fun projects, but that is not in the near future. I have never done other types of printing.

  2. Excited for you. Keep your head up in the interim. As the good Rev. Al Green used to say, “Just keep on keepin’ on.”

    Probably a good thing I didn’t tweet “with the rerun shows and the cocaine nosejob,” huh?

  3. i approve of the impulse control thing. the cliched saying i would add is ‘nothing is exactly as it seems, nor is it otherwise.’ :)

  4. Can’t wait to see what you and Avi produce in that space! And I know your patience will be rewarded.

    I love the idea of an art space in the house. Despite my status as “the anti-craft” I have one kid who loves to paint and who should really have a space to do it. The only option is the basement though, and the light kind of stinks. I may call you for consulting….

Leave a Reply

