Infatuation

Many of you know that the Sharp Edge and I go way back – through both good times and bad. The Beer Emporium in Friendship has been a constant in my life for over a decade (again with the good and the bad) and it has relatively recently  reclaimed its rightful spot as my favorite neighborhood bar.

I was pretty excited to hear they were opening another location in downtown Pittsburgh, right down the street from my office. Perfect location for pre- and post-theater dining, and not too annoying to access if you’re coming into town from elsewhere. Now that I have a new job a couple blocks over (P.S., I won’t be on campus, I’ll be downtown.) the trek from office to beer will be a bit longer, but that turns out to be a good thing. If the past six days are any indication, being farther away may help me keep my impulsivity in check.

Because I’ve already been to the new Bistro three times.

And can I talk a minute about the waffles?

Oh.my.god. The Liege Sugar Waffles are out of this world. I got a chance to visit the new Bistro last week before it opened and had one with raspberry sauce on the side. I seriously have no words to describe how delicious it was. I made plans to come back again this week for lunch and maybe possibly perhaps okay totally spent a lot of time this week thinking about having another waffle.

Except it wasn’t as transcendent of an experience this time! It was really good, don’t get me wrong, but it wasn’t like, OH MY GOD THE WAFFLES good. Now none of this would make much of a story except for the epilogue: I learned tonight via @sharp_edge that the reason my waffle today was good but not criminally delicious is that the batter was too cold. They’re still working out the kinks of the new place, and as you might except, there are occasionally some inconsistencies.

I rarely wax poetic about social media from a professional standpoint, but in my opinion, Sharp Edge is doing it right. Whoever is behind the curtain with their Twitter account is responsive, personable, pleasant, informative, honest and funny. I’m a reasonably brand-loyal person when it comes to local restaurants and bars, and my interactions with @sharp_edge have improved my enjoyment of their establishments and increased the likelihood that I will visit them. Like three times. In six days.

So check out the new Sharp Edge Bistro downtown at 922 Penn Avenue. They’re doing a lot of things right, and working on others to get even better. Welcome them to neighborhood.

And tell them the crazy waffle girl sent you.

3 thoughts on “Infatuation

  1. I miss the old, senior-year-of-college Sharp Edge. It was my all time favorite place. I really didn’t like the remodel the last time I was there a few years ago (pre-Blackbird). I’m glad to hear that it has reclaimed some of it’s old glory. I would love to try the new place if we ever get back for Carnival or something.

    About the waffles, I just recently read a great looking recipe for them:
    http://www.thekitchn.com/thekitchn/guest-post/the-best-waffle-youll-ever-eat-gaufres-de-liege-guest-post-from-chichi-of-my-chalkboard-fridge-090629

    The sugar is everything, I gather.

Leave a Reply

