Post #smug protein (+ bonus)

I promised Mike I would post my high school senior pictures, since he took the plunge already this week in honor of his upcoming high school reunion. I also promised myself I would buckle down with slightly better cooking and eating asap, what with all the recent birthday and new job celebratory consumption shenanigans. So yes, I’ll get to the goofy picture in due time, but first a simple lentil salad to stave off post-workout hunger.

Remember a million years ago when I planted tomatoes and herbs? They were so tiny.

And Avi transplanted his potato from school.

Well, they grew. All of them. Including Avi. Big time.

And while I patiently await my first edible tomato, I am reaping the major benefits of fresh herbs at my doorstep, as they can turn even the simplest combination of ingredients into a fresh, healthy meal. Case in point: leftover cooked lentils + CSA garlic scapes + my basil, rosemary, cilantro and chives + lemon juice + tomatoes. Kosher salt and pepper to taste.

Hmmm. Not bad, not bad at all. But it’s still missing something…

Oh, of course! Chevre. Because there are few things in life that cheese doesn’t improve.

Nutritional information for lentil salad, made with 1/3 cup lentils, approximate: 109 calories, 1.6 grams fat, .8 grams saturated fat, 2.8mg cholesterol, 29.4mg sodium, 18 grams carbohydrates, 6.2 grams fiber, 3.7 grams sugar, 7.6 grams protein.

And the picture? I didn’t forget.

Shut up.

9 thoughts on “Post #smug protein (+ bonus)

  1. You look a lot more thoughtful in your pictures than I did in mine (Um, no surprise there). Also, we apparently didn’t have color film when I was in high school…

  2. And the other part of the comment I forgot: After our trip to Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob with my folks last summer, I was able to whip up a pasta dinner when we returned home using fresh parsley, oregano and basil we had growing in a pot on our back steps. My parents were blown away.

Leave a Reply

