Sleep Grumbly

I haven’t been sleeping well.

It’s actually *not* the heat, although I think the sound of our window air conditioner whooshing along probably isn’t helping matters. And it’s not that I’m having trouble getting to sleep at the beginning of the night; I frequently go to bed shortly after Avi does. I’ll admit to falling asleep stupidly with a magazine in my hand and the light on occasionally, but that’s usually corrected by a sympathetic party when he comes to bed. I’ve been working out almost every day, doing yoga several times a week and eating mostly okay, although I’ve certainly slacked in that area over the past month. But I strongly doubt that is the major cause either way.

Basically, I have no idea what it is. And that’s what is so frustrating.

I either wake up feeling like I got hit by a train, or I toss and turn from about 3am to 5am. Both are unpleasant.

We recently moved our bedroom orientation, and there is definitely more light coming in directly on me than there was previously. I guess it is possible that is contributing to my morning sleep struggles. And that’s probably an easy fix to test out, at least.

Other than that, I’m completely clueless. Anyone have suggestions for more restful sleep? I don’t want this to become a regular thing.

2 thoughts on “Sleep Grumbly

  1. I’ve actually found that I need less sleep than I think I do, so if I go to bed too early, I end up wide awake for a few hours in the middle of the night (usually 3-5 for me too). By making myself stay up an hour later, even though I know I could fall asleep easily at 10, I actually sleep a solid 7 hours, rather than 6 hours with 2 wide awake hours in the middle. Don’t know if that’s what ails you, but it’s worth a try… Hope it helps! :)

  2. Could it be sleep apnea? My husband just found out he has it and it’s really shocking how much better he sleeps now. It may be far fetched, but it’s worth a shot.

Leave a Reply

