Fruit Salad Crisp

We got some beautiful peaches in our CSA box tonight, but unfortunately they were so beautiful and ripe and ready to eat that I feared we wouldn’t be able to enjoy them before they went bad. I decided to bake them into a crisp.

But we also got some blueberries, and I’m pretty sure that peach-and-blueberry together is a thing, so I thought about throwing some of those in, too. Then I looked around the kitchen and saw ripe bananas in about the same condition as the peaches, and they seemed like a natural fit, too. Suddenly I had a fruit salad. With a crisp to go on top. Holy cow, fruit salad crisp.

I layered all the fruit into a glass pie plate and went to work on the topping. As usual, I went with the oats+butter+honey+stuff method, where in this case stuff is equal to agave nectar, almond extract and vanilla. I used 1/4 cup of butter and about 2 tablespoons of both honey and agave nectar. For the oats, I added 1/2 cup flour to 2 cups of oats, a pinch of Kosher salt and some ginger and allspice.

It’s important that the crisp is spreadable but still thick enough to stick together without being gooey.

I never add anything to my fruit when I make a full size fruit crisp, although I know plenty of people who sweeten and spice before topping off.

Then the whole thing gets covered with aluminum foil and into the oven for about 35 minutes at 375 degrees. Or so. This isn’t officially baking so it’s not an exact science.

Tonight, after 35 minutes, I took the foil off and put the pie plate back in under high broil for about 7 to 10 minutes to crisp up the crust.

We tried to wait for it to cool off and set before we tasted it, but it smelled too good to resist. The fruit is lively and sweet (bananas), but also tart and rich (blueberries) and very juicy (peaches). I actually ended up draining the bottom of the pie pan because of all the moisture from the peaches, but it absolutely did not impact the taste in any way. More importantly, the moisture didn’t affect the crisp crust, so all the textures were as they should be.

Definitely an extremely successful experiment. Deelishus both hot and cold.

Nutritional information for fruit salad crisp, 1/12 of recipe, approximate: 187 calories, 5 grams fat, 2.5 grams saturated fat, 10.2mg cholesterol, 1mg sodium, 33.7 grams carbohydrates, 3.1 grams fiber, 17.6mg sugar, 3.8 grams protein.

2 thoughts on “Fruit Salad Crisp

  1. Just a suggestion – the whole juice thing with the peaches might be avoided if you bake it uncovered. Bonus: top gets crispy in the process and there is no need for the broiler step. Looks fabulous and I can almost smell it!

    • Hmmm. Good point. I was worried about the granola browning too quickly, but with fresh soft fruit it doesn’t need to bake as long as say, apples.

Leave a Reply

