Missing something

I miss singing.

I mean, I sing all the time at home. On road trips, while I’m working, with Avi (although I usually can’t keep up with his unique lyrics and medleys. Last night’s example: a song about “female chocolate space”. I’m not kidding.) All that is great, but it’s not really what I mean.

I miss singing with a group. Learning parts and perfecting harmonies. Mostly a capella, but I think that’s because it’s always been easier for me to focus without the accompaniment. I don’t mean heavily classical stuff, either. I sang with the Bach Choir of Pittsburgh for a couple of seasons before Avi was born. It was great and I learned a ton, but that’s not the style that I’m looking for. I want something smaller, more contemporary. Less formal.

I should note that this desire has nothing whatsoever to do with Glee, although I certainly have nothing against the show. I’ve just never seen it. We don’t have a tv, but we don’t live under a rock, either. I’ve listened to Lea Michele and Chris Colfer’s Defying Gravity with the best of them (his voice is remarkable), and I will probably go back and watch the show at some point, but for now I remain reasonably blissfully unaware.

What I want is more like a jazz choir anyway, though not exclusively for jazz. Poppy is fine, too. And I’ve always had a fondness for madrigals. I can’t believe I’m going to say this, but I kinda want to sing what I sang in high school. Good old SATB stuff.

Why isn’t this a thing? Why is it so difficult to get a group together in Pittsburgh to do this for fun? I am about as far from the talents of a musical director as one can get while still being a passable vocalist, so I can’t do it myself. In mentioning this to friends over the years (See? My desire predates Glee.) I’ve talked with a lot of people who are interested in participating, but no one with the skills to put it together. It should come as no surprise that those who do possess the talents of musical direction are off, you know, music directing. For money, not just for fun.

So, I pine for JW Pepper orders and penciled notes in the margins of sheet music. My pitch pipe sits unused (do those things go bad?) and I’ve pretty much lost the sight reading ability I once had.

If you need me, I’ll be sitting in my car singing along to the Indigo Girls.

5 thoughts on “Missing something

  1. I lamented something similar a couple years ago. I’m not even a good singer (mediocre, really), but group singing is one of the few things I miss from high school.

  2. Does CMU have a staff a capella group? I don’t know if a capella groups even exist on campus any more, but it might be fun to have a staff group, too. That still doesn’t really solve the musical director issue, but there’s always Avi.

    • Definitely student groups, but don’t know anything about a staff group. That might be a good resource for a musical director type, though…there certainly are a lot of talented kids on campus. Hmmmm.

Leave a Reply

