Strawnana Muffins

The first Tuesday of every month we have breakfast goodies at our weekly staff meetings. The responsibility for the snacks rotates amongst the departments, and tomorrow is the first time since I started my new job that my department is up. I don’t know what anybody else is bringing – we talked about it last week and then I promptly forgot. I had delusions of baking challah, but that didn’t happen in any sort of timely fashion. So tonight at 10:30pm, I found this reasonable recipe for strawberry and banana muffins on Joy of Baking, modified it to what I had on hand and hoped for the best.

Alterations were relatively minor because I didn’t have much time to mess around. I didn’t have enough brown sugar so I added some agave nectar. For some reason I still don’t have cinnamon, so I went with ginger and cloves instead. I definitely didn’t have a whole teaspoon of vanilla – maybe a half? So I added some almond extract just for fun. I almost added a third banana but I decided not to goof on the chemistry too much since somebody other than my family would be eating these in less than twelve hours.

Best tip of the recipe: adding the strawberries to the dry ingredients rather than after the wet and dry have been mixed together. Supposedly the flour coating helps to keep them from sinking during baking. I will have to investigate further to see if that works for other fresh fruits.

In addition to non-sunken strawberries, the finished muffins seem to have the appropriate texture and smell absolutely amazing. I only made twelve, so I’m resisting the urge to try them until the morning. I’ll update with nutritional information then as well. UPDATE: Successful, albeit dense. That may have been an asset, though, since I had to take them on the bus. They came very close to being re-named Smashed Banana Muffins.

Nutritional information with modifications, per muffin, approximate: 145 calories, 1.1 grams fat, .2 grams saturated fat, 35.8mg cholesterol, 122.6mg sodium, 30.3 grams carbohydrates, 1.2 grams fiber, 9.8 grams sugar, 4 grams protein.

Leave a Reply

