Challah, hockey and Hanukkah hilarity

Subtitle: Andrea adores alliteration.

Anyway.

I made challah again for Thanksgiving. All by my big girl self. Yes, I borrowed my mom’s Kitchenaid mixer. Yes, I used CSA eggs. At this point, the recipe is familiar enough that I’m comfortable experimenting a little the next time I make it, but the Thanksgiving loaves were by the book.

Freshly toasted – and generously buttered – challah is truly one of my most favorite things.

Paper plate and cup of steaming hot Constant Comment tea are optional, but recommended.

And then, without much warning whatsoever, Thanksgiving was over and it was time for Hanukkah. What?! I guess that’s what we get for having a white Thanksgiving.

The rest of the month can’t wait to leap upon us now that the first dusting of snow has appeared. Or at least that’s what I keep telling myself every time I look at the calendar and freak out a little.

We got a new menorah for the family this year, and while we were picking it out we saw a smaller one that could be painted. Since Avi’s very first menorah got broken last year (I still have the pieces, of course) we decided that might be a fun project. We can rebuild it. We have the technology. We can make it better than it was. Bigger, stronger, faster…okay, maybe not faster. I got carried away.

But Avi did not. He was so careful, so disciplined. I have to admit, I was surprised. Wary, even. Those were acrylic paints, so we could have had quite the disaster on our hands. Well, his hands, anyway. Must have been the thinking tongue that saved him.

So that was fun. Thursday was even funner, though. First game (for me) at Consol Energy Center. Wooo!

I’d like to think of it as a little (okay big) Hanukkah present to myself. Definitely a last minute splurge, but definitely worth it. Two words: hat trick.

What a blast. Very impressed with the Penguins’ new home. Very impressed with the Penguins, as well. Super fun night.

But wait! There’s more!

Friday was family Hanukkah at our house, something we hosted for the very first time. It was really great. I didn’t kill myself cooking – I know, right?! – so it was a really perfect blend delicious food half prepared by someplace else (I threw together two or three quick things, no biggie) and just a wonderful time with wonderful people. And quite possibly the funniest thing I have seen in a very, very, very, VERY long time.

Avi went to the holiday shop at school that day and purchased gifts for his grandparents, aunts and uncles, as well as his loving parents, of course. I think this is a pretty common school thing – you send in a list and some cash, some volunteer helps the kids pick out the things and wrap them, everybody wins. So he passed all the wrapped presents out and ordered everyone to open their gifts. When the dust settled, this is what almost everyone had in front of them:

His dad and I had something different (I had a lovely piece of dollar store jewelery. Seriously, it’s quite cute. D had a screwdriver set that he also received last year.) and one other person had a “Best Grandmother” ribbon – but not, I should note, his grandma. She had a #1 Grandpa rosette like everyone else. It was so. damn. funny. Like, painfully. I cannot for the life of me figure out how it happened – someone had to help him pick them out and wrap them, afterall. Someone had to physically put wrapping paper around a #1 Grandpa ribbon and label it “Lizy” and not think that was unsual?! Someone had to fully support his buying five #1 Grandpa ribbons?!!?! Hilarious.

We were a little concerned he would all of a sudden read the rosettes and realize what they said and get very upset or embarrassed. He’s reading like a champ these days, and I have no doubt he could read “#1 Grandpa” if he actually paid attention. Luckily he was too engrossed in his own Hanukkah haul to really notice why we were giggling.

2 thoughts on “Challah, hockey and Hanukkah hilarity

  1. I’m super jealous of both your Pens game and the challah bread… looks amazing!
    Also, I giggled re: the thinking tongue. I, too, have a thinking tongue and my family still makes fun of me for it. And to this day I still stick my tongue out when I’m concentrating. Zero lollipops rulez!

Leave a Reply

