For Emily, Wherever I May Find Her (Eating These Cookies)

I’ve written about my go-to recipe for chocolate chip cookies before. I still don’t tweak it much – I’m playing around with temperature and bake times, mostly – and it remains tremendously popular at family and work events alike. The one thing about it, though, is that I end up with all of these egg whites when I’m finished, since the recipe only calls for egg yolks. Now I like egg whites. A lot. But I often triple the chocolate chip cookie recipe, leaving me with six egg whites, and I’m not always able to or interested in making a large egg white omelet right on the heels of a marathon cookie session. For some reason it makes slightly more sense to tack on a second cookie and immediately make use of those many egg whites.

I tested this theory before Thanksgiving this year, on a whim. The result was crazy ugly but crazy delicious. A certain cousin who shall remain nameless requested the recipe more than once, so I experimented and improved before sharing. This is for her.

(A lot of ) Chocolate Coconut Macaroons

8 oz semi-sweet chocolate
6 egg whites
1/2 cup unsweetened dark chocolate cocoa powder
1 1/2 cups sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon almond extract
6 to 7 cups sweetened shredded coconut

Melt the semi sweet chocolate in a double boiler, or if you’re like me, finally figure out that the stainless steel mixing bowls your mom got you preclude the need for an actual double boiler. Hooray! Remember not to use too much water in the bottom pain. Or heat. (Although I know from experience that it doesn’t ruin the taste, in this particular instance the thinner texture is ideal.) Set the melted chocolate aside to cool.

Mix the egg whites, cocoa powder, sugar, salt and extracts until smooth. Add the melted semi-sweet chocolate and coconut. I usually use about a bag and a half of coconut (it comes in obnoxious 5.25 cup sized bags), but I eyeball it. In my opinion, you can’t go wrong with more coconut. Yum. You just want it to be as covered in chocolate as possible.

Stick the mixture in the fridge for at least an hour, but longer if you can stand it. When I bake these with the chocolate chip cookies, I mix up the macaroon “dough” while I’m in between cookie batches in the oven. I’ve left the macaroons in the fridge for over a day and it’s totally fine.

I use my round tablespoon to scoop them out. Notice the silicon baking mat! I cannot stress that enough with this recipe! (And thanks again, mom, for that fabulous addition to my kitchen tools collection!) These puppies are soooooo sticky, wax paper won’t work. I don’t know about parchment paper. Just get a silicon mat. It’s awesome. Anyway, bake at 350 degrees for about 17 minutes, then let them cool right on the mat for as long as you can.

Don’t be distressed if they flatten out a bit. I’m pretty sure that’s a result of the baking mat, and it’s much preferred to having your cookies stick to the sheet. And I also think they’re extra delicious if you put them back in the fridge, but that’s my personal preference. I’m just saying that nobody thinks to look in the fridge for the cookies, so maybe if you do that these guys will stick around a little longer ;)

One thought on “For Emily, Wherever I May Find Her (Eating These Cookies)

Leave a Reply

