Resolve.

So here we go.

I am *exactly* the same weight as I was this time last year. Down to the pound. But what does that really mean? Well, not only did I lose 53 pounds last spring, winning the Loser Mom contest, even, but I also gained back 53 pounds over the summer and fall. I’m nothing if not consistent.

I started writing again so I had a way to keep recipes and nutritional information in one place, and to brag a little when I hit major goals. I’ve gotten away from that, and tracking nutritional information in general, and the results are, well…pretty spectacular. In a bad way. I started out tracking everything – food intake, serving size, exercise – on a daily basis. I was going to the gym at least four times a week, doing yoga, running. When I failed, because that’s what we’re talking about here, I failed at every one of those things.

This is hard.

I’m doing a detox this week to kickstart some changes to the way I approach food at home. Again. And I have a lot of events and responsibilities at work coming to head over the next two months, so this is really the perfect time to introduce and enforce something I’ve struggled with for a long time: discipline. No surprises there.

Unfortunately, that also means giving up (temporarily) one of my favorite things: good, delicious beer. We have tickets to The Big Tap In at the end of April, which will be an awesome reward when I get that far. I’m not putting a number on that here, despite my continued interest in numbers, but I’m confident I can be two marshmallow about it.

So no big resolution lists, no specific numbers, no public goals. Just resolve. To get through this detox, exercise daily and eat smarter.

(And to eventually drink beer again.)

8 thoughts on “Resolve.

  1. Pingback: Park Bruges (and a status report) « having fun storming your castle

Leave a Reply

