What I Love vs. What I Eat, vol. 1: Buffalo Blue Cheese

I love food. Duh.

And food loves me. Duh.

(Especially my hips, thighs and tummy.)

So as I re-evaluate, re-establish and re-structure my eating habits, I’m finding ways to enjoy some of what I love without completely going off the deep end. I cook with fresh, whole ingredients so I certainly don’t  like the idea of swapping one processed food for another processed food. That means sites like Hungry Girl – which is all about finding healthier ways to eat the stuff we all really want to, often by way of fat-free or lite versions of pre-packaged foods – aren’t usually my go-to. Instead, I’m trying to really be thoughtful about the *tastes* I enjoy (novel concept, I know) and then find alternative ways to acquire them.

(That being said, I don’t make everything from scratch. As you’ll see below, condiments are one area where I’m usually fine with starting with a purchased product. Especially if it’s full of magic.)

First up, what I love: boneless buffalo wings with blue cheese dressing.

I’ll be honest, I’m really picky about boneless wings and I don’t eat regular wings at all. Ever. I guess it would be more accurate to say I’m very picky about chicken. I’m a white-meat only kind of gal.

But I love LOVE the buffalo bites at Sharp Edge. Please do not ever take me there during a Penguin game because they’re only .40 a piece and that’s just cruel. I also like the boneless wings at Mad Mex quite a bit, although I recently discovered that it’s actually the dressing that I really LOVE. Seriously, I could eat it with a spoon. (Side note: this is awesome. Kudos to Big Burrito.)

Anyway, the dressing. It’s blue cheese with buffalo sauce, basically. Same combo as my favorite bites flavor. So why not take what I have at home and recreate it?

I’ve written about my dressing before. Bolthouse Farms Yogurt Dressing Chunky Blue Cheese. Why aren’t you buying this stuff yet? It’s magically delicious. AND! No preservatives, no artificial anything. 50 calories for two tablespoons. It still Blows. My. Mind.

Add some Sriracha hot chili sauce (negligible caloric impact). Serve with pulled chicken.

So, what I eat:

Nutritional information for 3.5 oz pulled chicken: 164 calories, 4 grams fat, 0 carbs, 31 grams protein. Plus the 2 tablespoons dressing: 50 calories, 4.5 grams fat, 1 gram carbohydrates, 1 gram sugars, 1 gram protein.

Total savings: about a million calories and two million grams of fat. At least.

7 thoughts on “What I Love vs. What I Eat, vol. 1: Buffalo Blue Cheese

  1. Pingback: What I Love vs. What I Eat, vol. 2 « having fun storming your castle

  2. Pingback: What I Love vs. What I Eat, vol. 3 « having fun storming your castle

  3. Pingback: What I Love vs. What I Eat, vol. 2: Kale Chips « having fun storming your castle

  4. Pingback: What I Love vs. What I Eat, vol. 3: Banana & Coconut « having fun storming your castle

  5. Pingback: What I Love vs. What I Eat, Vol. 4: Fish Tacos & Tomatilla Salsa « having fun storming your castle

  6. Pingback: What I Love vs. What I Eat, Vol. 5: “Toastless” French Toast « having fun storming your castle

  7. Pingback: What I Love vs. What I Eat, vol. 6: Egg Salad & Biscuits. (No, really.) « having fun storming your castle

Leave a Reply

