The one where you can win four tickets to SHREK THE MUSICAL

I am super excited about this.

The Pittsburgh Cultural Trust wants to send one of you – well actually, you and three friends or family members – to see SHREK THE MUSICAL on March 15!

I’ve heard great things about the show – and you know my stance on kids seeing live theater (a clue: SO IMPORTANT). Maybe someone in your family can have a magical theater experience, too. SHREK THE MUSICAL is based on the William Steig book – you knew the book came before the movie, right?! – and also the movie that your kids probably already love. My own child will be seeing it before we go to the show, because like the main character, I am apparently an ogre…who never lets her son watch movies. Except I’m not green. And it’s actually his choice. But you get the idea. It’s Shrek!

Green guy and donkey and everything.

Now pardon me as I geek out on the show itself: the music is by Jeanine Tesori, who also wrote the music for “Violet”, which I love. Bryan D’Arcy James and Sutton Foster originated the lead roles. It was nominated for Best Musical (and a slew of other awards, including for both James and Foster) and Tim Hatley won the Tony for Best Costume Design (he also designed the set). What does this all mean? The show is good, people. Seriously.

Here’s what you have to do. Leave a comment here with your favorite line from the movie. Or your kids’ favorite. Whatever. I’m going to pay attention to what Avi laughs the hardest at when we watch it and I’ll share that later. I’ll pick a comment using random.org and the winner will receive 4 tickets to SHREK THE MUSICAL on Tuesday, March 15 – opening night! The show is at 7:30pm and your tickets will be available at will call. I’m coming that night as well, so I’ll see you at the show!

Get your comments in by 10am on Friday, March 11. One comment per person – don’t be a cheater! I’ll post the winner that afternoon.

Disclaimer: the Pittsburgh Cultural Trust is providing me with four free tickets to use and four tickets to give away. But you knew that since I explained it up above. I’ll be posting a review of the show after I see it on March 15. You can purchase tickets for SHREK THE MUSICAL here, but I hear they’re selling fast. The tour – part of PNC Broadway Across America – is only in Pittsburgh from March 15-20, 2011.

18 thoughts on “The one where you can win four tickets to SHREK THE MUSICAL

  1. I love the donkey the line I quote the most is the onion quotes. Nothing better than “You`re so wrapped up in layers, onion boy, you`re afraid of your own feelings.”

  2. Donkey is our favorite character, and the first movie our favorite of the series. We must have watched it 100 or more times. I have a lot of favorite lines, many of which I still quote to this day. “I’ll make waffles” The whole scene in the beginning of the 1st movie where he starts to fly, Pinocchio saying “I’m a real boy” “that’ll do Donkey, That’ll do” Gingy saying “Not the buttons, not the gum drop buttons!” ….I think I need to add Shrek to my netflix instant cue!

  3. Well…from the first movie I’ll have to go with Donkey’s line: “Everybody loves Parfaits”…then I immediately sing the old Dairy Queen commercial “Raspberry Parfait”

  4. It’s been so long since I’ve seen any of the Shrek movies, but I’m going with …

    Donkey: You know what ELSE everybody likes? Parfaits! Have you ever met a person, you say, “Let’s get some parfait,” they say, “Hell no, I don’t like no parfait”? Parfaits are delicious!

    I’m also a huge fan of puss in boots on account of my love for all things feline. :)

  5. I asked my girls, and they were unanimous. Donkey is their favorite character and they love it when he says:

    “We can stay up late, swapping manly stories, and in the morning, I’m making waffles!”

    So exciting! Thanks Andrea!

  6. Asked my boys here’s their favorite line: Donkey “What’s that smell? Was that you? Shrek: “If it was me you’d be dead!”

    I think it’s awesome that this show is coming to the Burgh. I totally agree about the importance of the theater experience for children. These shows make it easy to do that. We’ve taken our kids to many of the Scooby, Dora, Diego & others. They’ve loved them all.

  7. Easy: “Stop Drop and Roll, Shrek! Someone get some water!” – Gingie, Shrek the Halls

    But from the original Shrek, perhaps: “That must be Lord Farquaad’s castle… Do you think he’s maybe compensating for something?”

    Shrek does such such a good job of fitting in jokes for grownups too.

Leave a Reply

