What I Love vs. What I Eat, vol. 2: Kale Chips

(For more on this once-and-future series, see this post.)

I enjoy snacking. Usually lightly salty, though I’m picky in this like all else.

One of my favorite things in the world is a really really good, fresh salsa (preferably homemade) with tortilla chips (preferably homemade). I can eat buckets of salsa, which is not actually the worst thing ever since it’s mostly tomatoes and I never make it with oil.

Buckets of chips on the other hand? Not so much. I mean, sure! I can eat them. But should I? Of course not.

So how can I enjoy snacky, sorta salty things that aren’t tortilla chips? I make green chips instead.

Maybe you’re already doing this, and you learned from an expert. If not, I urge you to try it. You need thick dark greens, like collards or kale. A tiny TINY bit of oil or toxic spray or better yet one of these. Kosher salt, pepper, maybe a salt-free seasoning mix or some Parmesan cheese. Baking sheet, silicon liner optional. 300 degrees. Ten to twenty minutes, depending on your personal green-chip-texture preference. Boom.

You can make a lot at a time.

They shrink a little in size, and can brown along the edges if you leave them in too long. They also taste better than they look, especially in my terrible photos.

(But remember, for your tummy’s sake, that you’re eating a bag of greens. In other words, don’t eat a bag of greens.)

I like the curly texture of the kale out of the oven, but I often prefer the flavor of the collards. They also stay flat like chips if you’re into that. Neither are substantial enough to hold up to salsa, so that is a challenge I will tackle at a future date.

Nutritional information for 190 grams of kale (above, raw): 95 calories, 1 gram fat, 19 carbs, 6 grams protein, 82mg sodium, 4 grams fiber. Nutritional information for 259 grams of collard greens (above, raw): 78 calories, 1 gram fat, 15 carbs, 6 grams protein, 52mg sodium, 9 grams fiber.

(But seriously, don’t eat that all in one sitting. Trust me.)

5 thoughts on “What I Love vs. What I Eat, vol. 2: Kale Chips

  1. What about baking corn tortillas to make chips? If you get a raw white or yellow corn tortilla and follow the same procedure you should get a crisper, heavier chip than with the greens minus all that deep frying that makes the real chips so bad for you. The same would work with a flour tortilla, they are just a tad less healthy than the corn if I am not mistaken (which I very well may be). Definitely not going to be as healthy as the greens, but better than fried & will work for salsa :-)

    • Yup, that’s what I do when I make homemade chips. No frying, just baking – although I usually use whole wheat flour instead of corn. Wonder how those two compare? Anything special I should know about baking the corn tortillas vs flour?

      I often get my salsa fix by using it in place of salad dressing also!

      • The corn are just masa harina (prob sp error there) mixed with some fat and water, the flour are about the same. Masa is a finer ground corn meal in essence and the fat to dry ratio is about the same, so I am willing to bet the whole wheat flour is prob the healthiest of the three….but that is pure conjecture. Well it will be until I google this to find out because I am curious.

        As to baking the corn tortillas you should be able to spritz them down (oooohhh…brilliance. spray w hot chili oil for some kick!) with some oil and sandwich between 2 sheet trays and bake at a higher heat, like 400. They need that little bit of oil to crisp up and layering between trays will keep them from curling up – same process you would use to make a phyllo crisp….if youve ever made phyllo crisps anyway :-)

Leave a Reply

