Things I’ve missed

An incomplete list of the things I’ve missed these past six weeks of #cmucarnival domination.

1. Cooking. I can’t actually remember the last time I cooked a complete meal from scratch. Bummer. But since our CSA started last week, I have fewer excuses preventing me from picking up this old habit.

2. Grocery shopping. I guess that should have been the first one, since I sure can’t cook until I restock some of our staples. I can’t believe I’m actually admitting this, but I’m really excited to go to the grocery store with a two page list.

3. Reading. I have a veritable stack of New Yorkers taunting me. Good thing I haven’t had time to keep up with the news, either. I figure if I read them all in order, it’ll be like I never missed a thing. I also figure it will take me until 2014 to get caught up.

4. Reading, part 2. Someone else is doing that a lot around here. I blinked and now he’s reading complete books to himself.

photo.JPG

5. Writing. I’ve missed having something to say other than whining about being busy, both here and elsewhere. I have several proposals for work that I’m looking forward to returning to, not to mention all the casual emails I’ve let slip by that I can finally respond to.

6. Writing, part 2. That same someone continues to provide us hours of entertainment with his reminder notes and shopping lists. It’s like having a personal secretary who never went to grammar school. But it’s way more fun to watch him figure it out in the moment, so now that I’m home before bedtime again I can actually do that.

7. Exercise. Spring Carnival is hard work: moving boxes, lugging event supplies, setting up chairs and tables. I was quite sore when everything ended, especially Saturday night. But it’s not the same as actual planned exercise, which I miss. Even the Wii Fit got uppity with me. I spent so long being exhausted that I forgot that exercise can actually help you re-energize. Now that the weather is nicer, I can’t wait to spend more time outside. And we recently got a treadmill so I can reestablish my running routine. Two steps forward, one step back, but at least that’s a net step forward.

8. You. Seriously.

4 thoughts on “Things I’ve missed

Leave a Reply

