Potato Kugel

Passover happened. Yeah, I know. Old news. Wanna see what I made anyway?

This year I took care of the potato dish, something I rarely make since I’m usually only meh about potatoes. I opted for a potato kugel, and luckily my friend Emily Levenson had a recipe I could use as a base.

The original served 6-8, so I mostly doubled it. I also tweaked here and there, though not much. Emily is a great cook. Here’s what I ended up with:

POTATO KUGEL (serves 14-16)

3 lbs red potatoes
2 lbs fingerling potatoes (I had these from our CSA)
1 large sweet onion, chopped
1 large red onion, chopped
4 large carrots
3 tsp salt
1 tsp white pepper
4 tsps (or so) fresh chives
6 eggs, beaten (I used gorgeous CSA eggs, which I can’t recommend enough)
1/4 cup oil (unchanged from the original recipe)
1/2 cup matzoh meal
chives to garnish
unsalted butter to grease the baking dish

Peel the potatoes and carrots, then grate together. DO NOT (like I did) UNDERESTIMATE HOW LONG THIS WILL TAKE. Seriously, like an hour and a half. Potatoes are SO annoying. They also get kind of watery when you grate them, so try to drain them or squeeze out the excess juice if possible before you add the onions. Stir in the salt, pepper and chives, then the eggs, then the mazoh meal. Pour into a greased baking dish.

For a batch this large, I just bought one of those aluminum pans at the grocery store so I wouldn’t have to clean it, but I bet a glass baking dish would yield a more uniform result. Bake at 375 degrees for an hour and ten minutes, until the kugel is fully set and the top is starting to brown. Flip to broil for three to five minutes if you’re feeling fancy.

The end result was a creamy and savory potato dish that seemed to please everyone. I started it in the oven too early so it had to sit for awhile on the heating plate, but the texture held up well. I’m interested in trying it again in a smaller batch with a glass dish to improve the crisping.

Thanks again, Emily!

3 thoughts on “Potato Kugel

  1. Nom!

    Yeah, I know grating that much potato takes forever. That’s why when I do something like this, I dig out the Cuisinart from where it lives waaaaay in the depths of my sideboard cabinet. I use the thing maybe twice a year, and for a dish like this, it’s totally worth the pain of cleaning the thing afterward.

  2. I was going to suggest the food processor, but Amie beat me to it – next time, I will be happy to loan you mine! Looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

