Baked Eggs and Happy Birthdays

My dad’s birthday was Saturday. A big birthday. We had a steak and eggs brunch to celebrate, and I offered to make the eggs. (My dad, of course, made the steaks.)

All week I thought about what kind of eggs to make, and all week i came to the same conclusion: steak+egg casserole=too much food. I didn’t want to set up a short-order station, but I couldnt think of a way to do eggs for eight people quickly and lightly. Every casserole I considered was heavy on the cheese, sausage or cream. Too. Much.

Then I realized that I could just bake the eggs, sans cassrole fixins. Yes, it took me the better part of a week to think of that. Shut up.

I found a recipe on 101 Cookbooks that intrigued me- great combination of individual eggs with assembly-line prep. I modified to fit my tastes, as usual.

Step one, avocados in multi-grain flat bread.

Step two, tomatoes, cilantro, onions and garlic.


Step three, gorgeous CSA eggs on top.

Bake for 13-15 minutes on 350 degrees. Or over-bake for 15-17 like I did.

Serve with steak and fruit salad and absurdly decadent cinnamon rolls, because it’s a big birthday, dammit.

Each baked egg cup is about 120 calories, by the way. Much better than a 300 calorie egg casserole. (Complete nutritional information forthcoming.)

So happy birthday, dad! Love you muchly, and so pleased we got to spend the morning with you.

5 thoughts on “Baked Eggs and Happy Birthdays

Leave a Reply

